Welcome to the 1st  International Symposium  “ELECTROMAGNETIC FIELDS (EMFs) and HEALTH 2018”!

The Abstracts Book of the Symposium is available here.

Electromagnetic radiation has been around since universe birth, while  all populations are now exposed to varying degrees of EMFs, whose levels increase according to the technology advances. Thus, EMF of all frequencies becomes one of the most common and fastest growing environmental influences on humans, biota and objects, warranting research attention.

The Symposium is co-organized by the the Biomedical Research Foundation of the Academy of Athens, the First Dpt of Paediatrics, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens Medical School, Aghia Sophia Children’s Hospital, the University Research Institute of Maternal and Child Health & Precision Medicine and the Paediatricians’ Colleges of Greece.

It is a consultation meeting been organized around:

  • Invited speeches by members of the Scientific Committee in plenary sessions
  • An ePoster session

Participation to the event is free; however, any potential participant should register online through this site.  Abstracts and ePosters (see section NEWS;  Authors Guide) may be submitted to sgeronik@bioacademy.gr by August 25th, 2018.


  • Solar activity
  • Geomagnetic activity
  • Biorhythms
  • Geomagnetic morbidity/geobiology
  • Dosimetry
  • Ionizing radiation in medical exposure
  • Non ionizing exposure induced morbidity
  • Non ionizing radiation sources
  • Radioresistance and Radiosensitivity
  • Electromagnetic Hypesensitivity
  • Preventing EMFs effects
  • Phubbing- cell phone induced ostracism
  • International policy and advisory response to RF exposure risks

Scientific Committee

  • George Chrousos (Greece)
  • Christina Kanaka-Gantenbein (Greece)
  • Styliani A. Geronikolou (Greece)
  • Stamatios Krimizis (Greece, USA)
  • Christos Zerefos (Greece)
  • Lucas Christophorou (Greece)
  • Manolis Georgoulis (Greece, USA, esa)
  • Alexander Georgakilas (Greece)
  • Konstantina Nikita (Greece)
  • Marinos Metaxas (Greece)
  • Tasos Gaitanis (Greece)
  • Konstantinos Anagnostopoulos (Greece)
  • Vassilis Kouloulias (Greece)
  • Theodore Samaras (Greece)
  • Martin Roosli (Switzerland)
  • Michael Kundi (Austria)
  • Hans Peter Hutter (Austria)
  • Igor Belyaev (Slovakia, Russia)
  • Nikolaos Sofikitis (Greece)
  • Mary Redmayne (New Zealand)
  • Panagiotis Vlamos (Greece)
  • Eleni Petridou (Greece)
  • George Drosatos (Greece)
  • Olga Tsoumani (Belgium)

Organizing Committee

  • George Chrousos (Greece)
  • Styliani A. Geronikolou (Greece)
  • Manolis Zoulias (Greece)
  • Manolis Georgoulis (Greece, USA)
  • Aikaterini Chamakou (Greece)
  • Hector De Lastic (Greece)